Bioethics: Challenges in Biomedical Areas (A cautionary tale)

In December 2023, CRC Press published a new book Bioethics: Foundations, Applications and Future Challenges (actually dated 2024). My colleague Sal Macip and I contributed Chapter 8: Challenges in Biomedical Areas.

I was very pleased with our chapter, in which we looked at the impacts of genome sequencing, the emerging capacity to edit the human genome, beginning of life issues, and the potential for creation of “posthumans”. I think you’d find the chapter thoughtful and thought-provoking. I’m fairly certain, however, that you’ll never read it.

You might assume that the “cautionary tale” in the title of this post refers to these developments, and to some extent that would be true. On this occasion, however, it is more of a reflection on the vagaries of scientific publication.

Continue reading